How to get the most out of Collaborate

Horizon Collaborate offers many advanced features including:

  • Instant messaging
  • Video calling
  • Multi-party conferencing
  • Live presence
  • Desktop and application sharing

To make sure you and your staff get the most out of Collaborate, we’ve put together the helpful user guides found on this page to help you take advantage of these new features.

Watch the Video Tutorials

Navigate to a specific User Guide

Signing In

Launch the Horizon Collaborate client, and then you will be prompted to sign in using the password provided by your administrator.

Refer to your administrator for any password issues. You can select “remember password” to sign in automatically.

Settings

Select the settings icon and you can apply General Settings, Audio and Video Settings, Incoming and Outgoing Calls. There are also advanced settings for logging and proxy settings.

Audio and video settings

When you first use Collaborate, you need to ensure your chosen audio device is selected. You can also select the video device and individual ring tone you want to hear.

Incoming call settings

A number of inbound call settings are available in the Collaborate client such as call forwarding and do not disturb.

These setting are also available for your Horizon Administrators in the Horizon portal.

Collaborate client overview

Horizon Collaborate is a fully integrated Unified Communications solution offering voice, video, Instant Messaging and multimedia conferencing. All of the services are available from the application. The same functionality is also available on mobile devices based on either Android or IOS.

Find someone

The quickest way to find someone via Collaborate is to start a search by typing the person’s name, phone number, or Instant Messaging address in the Search box on the Collaborate main window. The results display automatically.

Add a contact

You can add people who you regularly contact to your buddy list. This will enable you to contact them more easily and you will see their presence. To add a contact:

1. Find the person you want to speak to
2. Right-click the person’s name
3. Click Add to Contact

You can then add the user to a group by right clicking on the saved user and save to a group or add them to your favourites.

Creating groups

You can sort your contacts into groups for ease of management.
1. Click on the New button on the main screen
2. On the opened tab, click on Groups
3. Create a group name and click Add to Contacts

Instant messaging a contact

Select a user from your contact list, or search a new user and then double click on their name or hover over their name and click the IM icon. This will open up a chat window, where you can type your message.

Escalate the call to voice, video and sharing

Within the contacts open tab, select the appropriate call type you wish to make; voice, video or sharing. You are also able to see a person’s contact card by pressing on the information icon.

Managing your presence

Presence enables you to see the status of the person you want to contact, so you can decide the best way of talking to them. Presence is derived from the users calendar and along with their activity within Collaborate, such as making a voice call.

To change your presence, click on your presence status and then select an appropriate one from the list. The status will remain until you select ‘automatic’ or log out of the client call.

Dialpad

The keypad is available to manually dial a number or for use in a call such as entering numbers in a legacy audio conference bridge. A number can be cut and pasted into the dialpad.

Voice calling a contact

Select a user from your contact list, or search a new user and then you can double click on their name, or hover over their name and click the voice icon. This will start the voice conversation.

In call control

Once the call is connected you will have access to the following:

  • Hang Up
  • Hold
  • Mute
  • Transfer
  • Conference
  • Call park
  • Call Park
  • Escalate the call to video

Pull call

You can move a call from your mobile softclient to your desktop, or from your desktop to your mobile client, without interrupting the call. This feature is available on voice calls and voice conference calling. When a call is made or received on the mobile client, the following option will become available. Simply click on Calls and then Pull Call (or press Ctrl. P) and the call will now be on the desktop.

Voice calling from a chat window

You can change a call type at any time from within a chat window. This is useful when you want to check someone is available to take a voice call.

  1. Double click on a user to open the chat window
  2. Click on the icon to start a voice call
  3. You will have access to the in call controls to manage the call

You can escalate the call to video by clicking on the icon. The call can be easily turned into a conference call by using the in call controls, or simply dragging and dropping a user into the open tab.

Visual voicemail

Access your voicemails from Call history and click on the voicemail icon. Select the voicemail and then press play. You can manage your voicemails from the more options icon.

  • Play
  • Delete
  • Save the file

Call history

Select the call history icon and then select the calls. Call history shows all of your incoming and outgoing calls, the date and time of the call and if it was answered. By right clicking on a call in the history, you can contact or manage the call. Options will depend on who the call was made to or from.

Start a conference

You have your own personal and permanent multi media conference room called My Room. Click on the icon to open up your My Room and you’re ready to start your meeting.

For internal staff, you no longer need to send out pins, codes or plugins, just let them know the conference will be in My Room in your calendar invite. Additional users can be dragged into the conference from your contacts at any time.

Join a conference

Joining a conference could not be simpler. Hover over the contact and click on their My Room icon.

Inviting guests from outside your company

Collaborate has the option to invite guests into a conference. Using WebRTC, the guest does not need to download any apps or plug-ins, but simply joins via a compliant web browser with a single click, or via a standard telephone using a conference ID for audio only conferencing.

  1. Open up My Room
  2. Click on the link icon
  3. Send the link to your guest

Unscheduled (ad-hoc) conferencing

With Collaborate you can start a conference without having to schedule a meeting, by simply dragging and dropping users from your contacts to an open window. You can then enjoy all the features of a planned conference in the same way.

Share your desktop or program

You can share your desktop or a single application (recommended) by clicking on the start sharing button.

  1. Click on the share button
  2. Click on the application you wish to share or generic monitor
  3. Click on start sharing

The preview popup will show you what you are sharing, and gives you the option to pause or end the sharing session, or switch the application you are sharing.

Managing participants entering conference

You can control how participants are able to join the conference by enabling the Request access feature. If you have enabled Require everyone to request access, the participant will not be able to join the conference until you accept them on the popup request.

Managing users in the conference

All participants of the conference will be shown in the participants list. This enables you to manage the conference by:

  • Muting a person
  • Sending a private IM
  • Dismissing a person from the conference

Sending files

Rather than sending files externally you can send files via Collaborate. Either click on the share file icon in the bottom right corner, or simply drag and drop the file into the My Room or any chat tab. You will see the file being transferred, and have the option to cancel the file transfer.

Voice, video and sharing in a conference

Within the My Room tab, select the appropriate call type you wish to make, which can be voice, video or sharing. You can also see a person’s contact card by pressing the info icon.

Voice conferencing

When voice calling is enabled, you are able to:

  • Pause the call
  • Mute
  • Transfer the call
  • Park the call
  • Add additional users
  • End the call

Video conferencing

The active speaker will be in the main screen, with remaining participants shown below. You can toggle between the video, screen sharing (if enabled) and the IM chat window. The window can be expanded to full screen by clicking on the full screen button. Video calling will automatically enable voice.

Collaborate: Quick start videos

Collaborate: User Guides

Read our latest blogs.